Login

Register

Projects by
Research Area



Advanced Search

Your Research Suggestions

View your cart

Appearance Wood Products

Engineered Wood Products

General

Manufactured Buildings & Components

Structural & Non-structural Panels

Structural Wood Products

Home > Research and Results > Projects by Research Area >

Appearance Wood Products

Long-Term Performance of Engineered Wood FlooringCompleted

Project leaders: Blanchet, Pierre
 

Objective:

This projects main aim is to evaluate the long term performance of wood floor substrates and their construction over a longer term. An aging schedule will be used to obtain accelerated aging data. Aging will be performed to generate fatigue in the products assessed. The assessment performed will provide knowledge on the components used in the products, especially the substrate. The substrates assessed will be those currently used by the industry but may also include other innovative products ( e.g., PSL, OSB or cement board).

Information on the nature of the process used to obtain the surface layer will be summarized. Slicing, peeling and sawing processes will be used to obtain the sugar maple wear layer on the Engineered Wood Flooring (EWF). Finally, cold set adhesive will be used to bond this component to the substrate. The adhesives considered for the project are PVA type II, polyurethane and epoxy.
 

The industry will be able to use the project results to choose the proper components and develop better products. This in turn will help the industry in its marketing efforts and to expand its market share. The objectives of this study are:

  • Provide information on the substrate used by the industry on a long term performance basis.
  • Assess new substrates.
  • Assess the effect of the process used to obtain the wear layer (slicing, peeling or sawing).
  • Evaluate the cold set adhesive.

For a summary of this research follow the link:

 

Start date: 2005-04-01 End date: 2007-03-30
 

Reports:

 

For more information on this project, please contact:

Blanchet, Pierre
FPInnovations
Email: pierre.blanchet@fpinnovations.ca
Telephone: (418) 659-2647
Fax: (418) 659-2922
 
Back to search result 

 

 

   
 
   
CONTACT USASK AN EXPERTREGISTERSITE MAPFRANÇAIS

Connecter

Inscription

Projets par
axe de recherche



Recherche avancée

Suggestions de recherche
 

Votre panier

Bois de structure

Bois d’apparence

Bois d’ingénierie

Composantes structurales et bâtiments préfabriqués

Générale

Panneaux structuraux et non structuraux

Accueil > Recherche et résultats > Projets par axe de recherche > Bois d’apparence

Bois d’apparence

Performance à long terme des revêtements de sol en bois d’ingénierieTerminé

Chef de projet: Blanchet, Pierre
 

Objectif

Le principal but de ce projet consiste à évaluer la performance à long terme de substrats de planchers de bois et la performance de leur construction sur une période encore plus longue. Un programme de vieillissement accéléré permettra d’obtenir des données sur le vieillissement. Les produits évalués seront soumis à un vieillissement jusqu’à ce qu’ils démontrent de la fatigue. L’évaluation effectuée permettra de recueillir des connaissances sur les composants des produits, tout particulièrement le substrat. Les substrats évalués seront ceux que l’industrie utilise couramment, ce qui n’exclut pas la possibilité que d’autres produits novateurs soient évalués (p. ex. le PSL, l’OSB ou les panneaux de fibragglo-ciment).

L’information sur la nature du procédé exécuté pour obtenir la couche de surface sera résumée. Des procédés de coupe en tranche, de déroulage et de sciage seront appliqués pour obtenir la couche d’usure en érable à sucre des revêtements de sol en bois d’ingénierie. Enfin, des adhésifs séchant par refroidissement fixeront ce composant au substrat. Les adhésifs envisagés pour le projet sont la colle PVA de type II, le polyuréthanne et la résine époxyde. 

L’industrie sera en mesure de se servir des résultats du projet pour choisir les bons composants et créer de meilleurs produits, ce qui l’aidera à commercialiser ses produits et à accroître sa part du marché. Les objectifs de cette étude sont les suivants : 

 
  •  fournir de l’information sur le substrat utilisé par l’industrie, sur la base d’une performance à long terme;
  • évaluer de nouveaux substrats;
  • évaluer l’effet du procédé mis en oeuvre pour obtenir la couche d’usure (coupe en tranche, déroulage ou sciage);
  • évaluer  l’adhésif séchant par refroidissement.
Suivez le lien pour voir un résumé de cette recherche :

Début du projet : 2005-04-01 Fin du projet : 2007-03-30
 

Rapports :

 

Pour plus d'information sur ce projet veuillez contacter :

Blanchet, Pierre
FPInnovations
courriel : pierre.blanchet@fpinnovations.ca
téléphone : (418) 659-2647
télécopieur : (418) 659-2922
 
Retour à la liste abrégée 

 

 

 

   
 
   
CONTACTEZ-NOUSADRESSEZ-VOUS AUX SPÉCIALISTESINSCRIPTIONPLAN DU SITEENGLISH