Login

Register

Projects by
Research Area



Advanced Search

Your Research Suggestions

View your cart

Appearance Wood Products

Engineered Wood Products

General

Manufactured Buildings & Components

Structural & Non-structural Panels

Structural Wood Products

Home > Research and Results > Projects by Research Area >

Appearance Wood Products

From forest certification to corporate responsibility: adapting to changing global competitive factorsCompleted

Project leaders: Barrett, David
 

Objective:

The global trend for companies to integrate sustainability efforts, both in strategic planning and daily operations, is well established. This shift is often called corporate responsibility (CR) and these practices have been spreading worldwide. Multinational companies in different sectors are usually the first ones to implement such practices. Companies like Time, Shell Oil, PespsiCo and others have already initiated substantial CR efforts as a means of demonstrating their commitment to sustainability and minimizing the risks of public criticism, a lack of transparency, and loss of market share in some markets, and providing access to additional capital and reduced insurance rates. The Canadian forest industry has focused on certifying forest practices to demonstrate their commitment to sustainability. However, current global business trends require far more than using material from certified sources to ensure that a company has transparent and verifiable sustainability credentials.

This study will put the evolution of environmental and social awareness and policies of Canadian wood firms in a global context that enables comparison among industries. Canadian firms’ investment in time and effort with respect to forest certification may be able to provide the leverage necessary to establish positive CR images with only incremental efforts. Failure to adopt and adhere to these CR practices and efforts may result in reduced share in select markets, a smaller pool of investment funds, and poor public image.
 
This study aims at identifying how Canadian forest companies can make the transition from forest certification to corporate responsibility practices. More specifically, the objectives of this study are:
 
  1. to identify how CR practices diffuse through the Canadian forest products sector, the conditions necessary for diffusion as well as the drivers leading to the adoption of CR practices; and
  2. to understand how/if forest certification influences the adoption of CR practices.

Start date: 2007-04-02 End date: 2009-03-31
 

Reports:

 

For more information on this project, please contact:

Barrett, David
University of British Columbia
Email: dbarrett@interchange.ubc.ca
Telephone: (604) 822-5852
Fax: (604) 822-9104
 
Back to search result 

 

 

   
 
   
CONTACT USASK AN EXPERTREGISTERSITE MAPFRANÇAIS

Connecter

Inscription

Projets par
axe de recherche



Recherche avancée

Suggestions de recherche
 

Votre panier

Bois de structure

Bois d’apparence

Bois d’ingénierie

Composantes structurales et bâtiments préfabriqués

Générale

Panneaux structuraux et non structuraux

Accueil > Recherche et résultats > Projets par axe de recherche > Bois d’apparence

Bois d’apparence

Certification des forêts et responsabilité organisationnelle : comment s’adapter aux facteurs concurrentiels mondiauxTerminé

Chef de projet: Barrett, David
 

Objectif

L’intégration d’objectifs de durabilité dans la planification stratégique et dans les opérations quotidiennes des entreprises est une tendance globale bien établie. Cette évolution est souvent appelée responsabilité organisationnelle (RO)et ces pratiques se sont étendues à l’échelle de la planète. Les multinationales de différents secteurs sont habituellement les premières à mettre en place de telles pratiques. Des sociétés comme Time, Shell Oil, PespsiCo, pour ne nommer que celles-là, ont déjà adopté d’importantes initiatives de responsabilité organisationnelle pour démontrer leur engagement envers le développement durable et minimiser les risques de critique de manque de transparence du public, de recul dans certains marchés et d’accès réduit à du capital additionnel et à des primes d’assurance moins élevées. L’industrie forestière canadienne a mis l’accent sur la certification des pratiques d’exploitation des forêts pour démontrer l’importance qu’elle accorde au développement durable. Or, avec les tendances actuelles du commerce mondial, on attend des entreprises davantage que l’utilisation de matières provenant de sources certifiées pour les reconnaître comme exerçant des pratiques transparentes et vérifiables en matière de respect des principes de développement durable.

Cette étude placera l’évolution de la sensibilité environnementale et sociale des entreprises canadiennes du bois dans un contexte global qui autorise une comparaison entre les différentes industries. En consacrant du temps et des efforts à la certification des forêts, les entreprises canadiennes pourraient produire l’effet de levier nécessaire pour projeter une image de responsabilité organisationnelle tout en ne déployant que des efforts marginaux. Les entreprises qui n’adopteraient pas ces pratiques pourraient être confrontées à une réduction de leur part de certains marchés sélects et à un accès limité aux fonds de placement, et ce, sans compter l’image ternie qu’elles laisseraient auprès du public.
 
L’étude vise à déterminer la façon dont les forestières canadiennes peuvent s’y prendre pour faire la transition de la certification forestière vers des pratiques de responsabilité organisationnelle. Plus particulièrement, les objectifs de l’étude sont :
 
  1. déterminer comment les pratiques de RO font leur chemin dans le secteur canadien des produits forestiers, les conditions nécessaires pour leur diffusion de même que les incitatifs à l’adoption de pratiques de RO; et
  2. comprendre comment la certification des forêts influe sur l’adoption de pratiques de RO.

Début du projet : 2007-04-02 Fin du projet : 2009-03-31
 

Rapports :

 

Pour plus d'information sur ce projet veuillez contacter :

Barrett, David
Université de Colombie-Britannique
courriel : dbarrett@interchange.ubc.ca
téléphone : (604) 822-5852
télécopieur : (604) 822-9104
 
Retour à la liste abrégée 

 

 

 

   
 
   
CONTACTEZ-NOUSADRESSEZ-VOUS AUX SPÉCIALISTESINSCRIPTIONPLAN DU SITEENGLISH