Login

Register

Projects by
Research Area



Advanced Search

Your Research Suggestions

View your cart

Appearance Wood Products

Engineered Wood Products

General

Manufactured Buildings & Components

Structural & Non-structural Panels

Structural Wood Products

Home > Research and Results > Projects by Research Area >

Engineered Wood Products

Characterization of Glue Penetration and its Influence on Wood Failure and Bond Quality in Structural Wood Product ApplicationsCompleted

Project leaders: Wang, Xiang-Ming
 

Objective:


In the upcoming CSA Standard 112.9 – Standard Specification for Evaluation of Adhesives for Structural Wood Products (Exterior Exposure), the percentage of block shear wood failure under dry and wet (vacuum-pressure and boil-dry-freeze) test conditions is one of the required performance criteria.

It is well known that the percentage wood failure normally correlates well to bond strength in block shear testing for phenol-resorcinol-formaldehyde (PRF) adhesives that have been traditionally used in the manufacture of engineered wood products. However, it has been noted that some new adhesives could yield strong bond strength but fail the wood failure test, or yield opposite results. This project will focus on the characterization of adhesive penetration into wood and the bonding mechanism (chemical bonding vs. other bonding).

This project will: develop a technique to quantitatively measure the degree of adhesive penetration into wood substrate as influenced by glue type, wood condition and bonding process; characterize the chemical interaction between adhesive and wood; correlate adhesive penetration with wood failure and shear strength; and assess the suitable wood failure criteria for structural adhesive performance in terms of adhesive categories.

Start date: 2005-04-01 End date: 2007-03-31
 

Results:

Reports:

 

For more information on this project, please contact:

Wang, Xiang-Ming
FPInnovations
Email: xiangming.wang@fpinnovations.ca
Telephone: (418) 659-2647
Fax: (418) 659-2922
 
Back to search result 

 

 

   
 
   
CONTACT USASK AN EXPERTREGISTERSITE MAPFRANÇAIS

Connecter

Inscription

Projets par
axe de recherche



Recherche avancée

Suggestions de recherche
 

Votre panier

Bois de structure

Bois d’apparence

Bois d’ingénierie

Composantes structurales et bâtiments préfabriqués

Générale

Panneaux structuraux et non structuraux

Accueil > Recherche et résultats > Projets par axe de recherche > Bois d’ingénierie

Bois d’ingénierie

Caractéristiques du transpercement de colle et ses conséquences sur la rupture dans le bois et la qualité d’adhérence sur les charpentes en boisTerminé

Chef de projet: Wang, Xiang-Ming
 

Objectif

Selon la nouvelle norme CSA 112.9 (nouvelle norme fondée sur la performance pour l’évaluation de nouveaux adhésifs pour bois de charpente) – Standard Specification for Evaluation of Adhesives for Structural Wood Products (Exterior Exposure), l’un des critères de rendement est le taux de rupture en fonction du pourcentage de bois dans des conditions de sécheresse et d’humidité (pression vacuométrique et ébullition-séchage-gel).

C’est un fait avéré que le pourcentage de rupture dans le bois varie en fonction de la résistance d’adhésion déployée lors de tests de résistance au cisaillement par compression des adhésifs phénoliques, ceux-là mêmes qui sont habituellement utilisés dans les produits de bois d’ingénierie. On a toutefois remarqué que certains nouveaux adhésifs peuvent offrir une résistance d’adhésion supérieure, mais qu’ils échouent au test de rupture dans le bois ou encore qu’ils donnent des résultats contradictoires. Ce projet mettra l’accent sur les capacités de transpercement de colle dans le bois et sur les mécanismes d’adhérence (liage chimique par rapport aux autres types de liages).

Ce projet vise à : mettre au point une technique permettant de mesurer le degré de transpercement de la colle dans les fibres du bois, selon le type de colle, l’état du bois et le processus de liage; qualifier les interactions chimiques entre l’adhésif et le bois; établir la corrélation entre le taux de transpercement de colle, les critères de rupture dans le bois et la résistance au cisaillement par compression; évaluer les critères de rupture dans le bois adéquats des adhésifs pour bois de charpente selon leurs catégories.

Début du projet : 2005-04-01 Fin du projet : 2007-03-31
 

Principaux résultats :

Rapports :

 

Pour plus d'information sur ce projet veuillez contacter :

Wang, Xiang-Ming
FPInnovations
courriel : xiangming.wang@fpinnovations.ca
téléphone : (418) 659-2647
télécopieur : (418) 659-2922
 
Retour à la liste abrégée 

 

 

 

   
 
   
CONTACTEZ-NOUSADRESSEZ-VOUS AUX SPÉCIALISTESINSCRIPTIONPLAN DU SITEENGLISH